Products

Measurement system of the tension of tightening of screw: the TRAXX-M2

THE TRAXX M2

The TRAXX-M2 is a bolt tension measuring system which tests and manages the tightening of bolted assemblies to a very high degree of precision.

The TRAXX system :

1 – Designed to be used on industrial sites

  • Portable : Weight: 3Kg, Battery life : 5 h
  • Solidity : IP64, shock resistant
  • User-Friendliness : Touch-screen, intuitive interface

 

2 – Is suitable for many types of screws/bolts

  • Bolt/screws : un-surfaced screws
  • Length: 5 mm to 14 m
  • Diameter : 3mm to 300mm or more

 

3 – Provides bolt tension measurements with up to 1% accuracy

  •  Measurements are expressed in kN
  • The unit automatically applies a temperature correction to the measurements
  • TRAXX is a non-invasive technique: the measurement modifies neither the condition nor the nature of the assembly

  

Additionally, the TRAXX-M2 is modular, a number of options are available and specific functions can be developed on demand. The TRAXX-M2’s  software is being constantly developed and is regularly updated.

TRAXX-M2: measurement tool tension tightening of a screw

If you want to find out more about how much it costs to purchase or hire our systems…

> > > Ask for a quotation

When should the TRAXX-M2 unit be used?

ASSEMBLY

1. Control the tension applied to your assemblies

The solidity of a bolted assembly depends on the force holding its component parts together.  This force depends on the tension applied to the screws or bolts which hold it together. The TRAXX-M2 system measures this bolt tension independently to the tool used to tighten the bolts (screw driver, torque wrench or hydraulic tensioner). TRAXX-M2 unit users apply tension in direct relation to the tension measurement reading: while tightening they can monitor the tension applied live on the TRAXX unit display, regardless of which tool they are using.

2 - Guarantee the effectiveness of your seals by applying equal bolt tension to all of the assembled parts

Given that it is the seal that guarantees that an assembly is watertight, the screws or bolts used to maintain the pressure on the seal are as much the guarantee that the seal is watertight as they can be the cause of its failure. Why? If the bolt tension is not distributed evenly over the whole of the seal then the structure’s integrity will be compromised. Seals are sensitive to pressure, the application of an even tension to the parts through using the TRAXX system to guarantee effective tightening, will ensure that the assembly is correctly sealed.

DESIGN

3. Reduce prototype production times

The development of a prototype assembled using torque tightening is generally a process of trial and error. Let’s use a new cylinder head seal design as an example. Its performance will have a very close relation to the tension of the cylinder head bolts. If they are torque tightened, it is difficult to tell what comes from the tightening and what comes from the seal itself. You will need to use a process of trial and error to identify the seal’s performance while statistically eliminating any dispersion caused by tightening.

On the other hand, if you have full control of the bolt tension, you will be able to analyze the performance of the seal without the influence of the dispersions caused by tightening. Being able to monitor and control the tension as it is applied, will allow you to disassociate the two variables: consequently you will have just one variable to analyses instead of two.

4. Optimize the design of your assemblies

In design offices, engineers think in terms of tension (kN) when designing assemblies, whilst assemblers will tighten to torque (N.m) when assembling the parts on the production line. This difference between the design and production procedures generates a barrier between product development and production. To cope with this discontinuity, designers tend to double the safety margins on all of the parts they design and the designated screws or bolts to be used on them.

The consequences of this generate additional costs:

– Over-sized and over-complicated assemblies

– As a result the assembly process is longer and more complicated

– Maintenance and operating costs will be higher.

Managing the bolt tension can reduce these factors and will re-establish continuity between the different departments: this way all of the teams will work with bolt tension.

– During the design process, the TRAXX system provides a way to test  the strength of the assemblies and monitor their properties and mechanical thresholds. In the end this will lead to improved design for the parts to be assembled.

– During assembly, the TRAXX system can be used to check that the tension applied to the parts complies with that prescribed by the design teams.

DURING MAINTENANCE, QUALITY CONTROL AND MONITORING

5. Monitor assemblies over time

In industry these days the maintenance of bolted assemblies generally involves entirely disassembling and then re-assembling the units (as is the case in refineries) or a section of the installation (for the wind turbine industry this represents 20% of bolted assemblies) on a yearly basis. This process is long and repetitive, and let’s be honest, a little outdated.

A second method, re-tightening to torque, involves slightly unscrewing the assembly and then re-tightening it. In this case it is possible that the bolts will be re-tightened to a higher tension than before, potentially leading to a risk of exceeding the bolt’s elastic threshold and its potential plasticization. 

In all cases, maintenance will be noticeably quicker and more effective when a bolt tension measurement unit is used. Why? With the TRAXX method, there is no need to actually unscrew the assemblies. It is a non-invasive procedure which can read the tension force present between two parts by simply placing a sensor on the screw or bolt.

In this way, the TRAXX unit can be used to monitor changes to the tension in the screws over periods of time (1 month, 5 years, 10 years). By comparing the initial tightening data with that measured after a specified period of time (t), for the first servicing for example, it is very easy to observe if the assembly is becoming loose or any other anomalies arise.

In this case, the TRAXX-M2 unit is used as a tool to check, monitor and survey assemblies over long periods of time.

6. Checking the quality of your bolted assemblies by checking the tension force applied by your tightening robots

Your objective is to find out if your screwdrivers apply your pre-defined tightening tension and if this tension remains steady over time.

With TRAXX units you can:

– Statistically check that the torque/angle settings of the screwdrivers are such that the tension force will remain constant.

– Correct the settings as required to guarantee acceptable tightening tension during production.

This was the case for PSA, for example.

FOR PROBLEM ASSESSMENT AND RESOLUTION

 

7. Assess your tightening problems using controlled disassembly techniques

If you have a suspected tension drop in one or more screws. Before disassembly, simply measure the tightening tension of the screw or screws in question to find out their residual tension. Then compare this tension with the theoretically expected tension to find out if there been a tension drop and by how much if any. From there on you will be able to discover the causes of the tension drop.

TRAXX also proposes a wide range of tightening services :

  • Mounting and tightening an assembly on-site
  • Monitoring the performance of an assembly
  • Tightening consulting and expertise
  • Training in the use of the ultrasound bolt tension measurement method

Do you have a technical question, comment or enquiry concerning tightening systems ?

Write to us !

We will answer your enquiry within half a day.

Produits

LE TRAXX m-2

Le TRAXX-M2 est un système de mesure de tension de serrage qui permet de contrôler et de maîtriser avec une très grande précision le serrage d’assemblages vissés.

Le système   traxx :

1 – Est conçu pour être employé sur site industriel

  • Portable : Poids: 3Kg, Batterie : 5 h
  • Robuste : IP64, résistant aux chocs
  • Ergonomique : Écran tactile, interface intuitive

2 – Est performant sur toutes les vis/ tiges

  • Vis : vis brutes / non rectifiées
  • Longueur : 5 mm à 14 m
  • Diamètre : 3mm à 300mm

3 – Fournit des mesures en tension avec une précision pouvant atteindre 1 %

  • La mesure est exprimée en kN
  • L’appareil effectue une correction de température sur les mesures
  • TRAXX est une méthode non-intrusive : la mesure ne modifie ni l’état ni la nature de l’assemblage

De plus l’appareil TRAXX-M2 est modulable, de nombreuses options sont disponibles et le développement de fonctions spécifiques est possible, à la demande. Aussi, le logiciel d’exploitation du TRAXX-M2 est en évolution permanente et fait fréquemment l’objet d’améliorations.

Vous souhaitez être informés des prix d’achat et de location de nos systèmes ?

> > > Demander un devis 

Dans quelles situations utiliser l’appareil TRAXX-M2 ?

AU MONTAGE

1. Maîtriser la tension installée entre vos pièces

Un assemblage vissé est rendu solidaire par une force de cohésion entre les pièces qui le composent. Cette force de cohésion équivaut à la tension insérée dans les vis qui relient l’assemblage. Le système TRAXX-M2 mesure cette tension de serrage indépendamment de l’outil utilisé pour serrer les boulons ( visseuse, clé dynamométrique ou tendeur hydraulique). Les utilisateurs des appareils TRAXX-M2 asservissent le serrage qu’ils effectuent à la mesure de la tension : durant le serrage, quelque soit l’outil utilisé pour serrer, il suivent l’évolution de la tension directement sur l’appareil TRAXX.

Maîtriser l'étanchéité de vos joints en appliquant une tension homogène entre les pièces à assembler

Étant donné qu’un joint sert à garantir l’étanchéité d’un assemblage, les vis de l’assemblage qui maintiennent la pression sur le joint peuvent aussi bien être le moyen d’obtenir une liaison étanche qu’être la cause d’une mauvaise étanchéité. Pourquoi ? Si la tension n’est pas répartie de façon homogène sur l’ensemble du joint alors l’étanchéité de la structure est compromise. Parce que les joints sont sensibles à la pression, l’application d’une tension homogène entre les pièces par une maîtrise efficace du serrage avec un système TRAXX permet de garantir une bonne étanchéité de l’assemblage.

EN CONCEPTION

3. Diminuer la durée de réalisation de vos prototypes

La mise au point d’un prototype monté avec un serrage au couple requiert un grand nombre d’essais-erreurs. Prenons pour exemple l’étude d’un nouveau joint de culasse. Son comportement dépend étroitement de la tension dans les goujons de culasse. Si vous serrez au couple, il est difficile de distinguer ce qui vient du serrage et ce qui vient du joint lui-même. Vous avez besoin de multiples essais-erreurs pour caractériser le comportement du joint en éliminant statistiquement les dispersions dues au serrage.

À contrario, si vous maîtrisez la tension de serrage, il est possible d’étudier le comportement du joint lui-même sans être gêné par les dispersions dues au serrage. Le contrôle et la maîtrise de la tension permettent de dissocier les deux variables : ainsi il reste une variable à étudier là ou il y en avait deux.

4. Optimiser le design de vos assemblages

En bureau d’études, les ingénieurs raisonnent en tension ( kN) lors de la conception d’assemblages vissés alors qu’au montage les opérateurs serrent au couple ( N.m). Cet écart conceptuel et opérationnel provoque une rupture dans le processus de développement et d’industrialisation des produits. Pour pallier à cette discontinuité les concepteurs doublent, par précaution, leurs marges de sécurité sur toutes les pièces qu’ils dessinent et les vis qu’ils prescrivent.

Les conséquences sont coûteuses :

– Les assemblages sont surdimensionnés et alourdis

– Le montage est donc plus difficile et plus long

– La maintenance et les coûts d’exploitations sont plus conséquents.

 

La maîtrise du serrage en tension permet de réduire ces facteurs car il rétablit une continuité entre les différents services : toutes les équipes raisonnent en tension.

–  En conception, le système TRAXX permet de tester la résistance des assemblages et d’observer leurs propriétés et leurs limites mécaniques. In fine, cela se traduit par un perfectionnement du design des pièces à assembler.

–  Au montage, l’utilisation du système TRAXX permet de contrôler que la tension installée entre les pièces est conforme à celle prescrite par les équipes en conception.

EN MAINTENANCE, SUIVI QUALITÉ ET SURVEILLANCE

5. Suivre les assemblages dans le temps

Aujourd’hui dans l’industrie la maintenance d’assemblages vissés consiste à démonter puis remonter la totalité des assemblages (c’est le cas des raffineries) ou une partie des installations (cela représentante pour l’éolien 20 % des assemblages vissés) chaque année. C’est un procédé lourd, répétitif et, disons-le, d’un autre temps.

Une deuxième méthode, la méthode du re-serrage au couple consiste à desserrer légèrement l’assemblage puis à le resserrer ensuite. Nous pouvons donc être amenés lors du resserrage à imposer au goujon une tension supérieure à celle qu’il subissait initialement et ainsi prendre le risque de dépasser la limite élastique du goujon et de le plastifier.

Quelque soit le cas de figure, la maintenance est sensiblement plus rapide et efficace lorsque l’on utilise un appareil de mesure de tension de serrage. Pourquoi ? Car il est inutile de dévisser les assemblages avec la méthode TRAXX. C’est une méthode non-intrusive qui permet de lire la tension présente entre deux pièces en posant simplement un capteur sur les vis de l’assemblage.

Ainsi avec les appareils TRAXX il est possible de suivre l’évolution de la tension présente dans les vis dans le temps (1 mois, 5 ans, 10 ans) . Par comparaison des données initiales de serrage avec les donnés à un temps t, lors du premier retour en maintenance par exemple, il est aisé de constater un desserrage ou un anomalie sur l’assemblage.

Dans ce cas l’appareil TRAXX-M2 est un outil de contrôle, de suivi et de surveillance des assemblages sur le long terme.

6. Vérifier la qualité de vos assemblages vissés par le contrôle de la tension installée par vos robots de serrage

Votre objectif est de savoir si vos visseuses produisent la tension de serrage que vous avez préalablement définie et si cette tension reste répétable dans le temps.

Avec les appareils TRAXX, vous pouvez :

Vérifier statistiquement que les réglages des visseuses couple/angle permettent d’obtenir des tensions maîtrisées.

Corriger les réglages pour obtenir des tensions de serrage « acceptables » en production.

C’est le cas de PSA par exemple.

EN EXPERTISE ET RÉSOLUTION DE PROBLÈME

7. Expertiser vos incidents de serrage par démontage contrôlé

Vous soupçonnez une perte de tension dans une ou plusieurs vis. Il vous suffit de mesurer la tension de serrage de la ou des vis suspectes avant de les démonter pour connaître la tension résiduelle. Il suffira de comparer cette tension avec la tension théoriquement attendue pour savoir s’il y a eu relâchement ou non et pour en connaître l’ampleur. À partir de là, il vous sera possible de commencer l’enquête pour déterminer les causes du desserrage.

La société TRAXX offre aussi une large gamme de service autour du serrage :
  • Prise en charge du montage d’un assemblage sur site
  • Suivi d’un assemblage dans le temps
  • Conseils et expertise en serrage
  • Formation à la méthode de mesure par ultrasons

Une question technique, un commentaire, une demande de prestation de serrage ?

Écrivez-nous !

Nous traitons votre demande dans l'heure !